Submit 176 even though state sponsorship still closed?

Guest janeymcp

Guest janeymcp

Hi

I wonder if anyone can provide any insight into my situation?

i am a registered nurse & wish to apply for a 176 visa. I do not yet have state sponsorship and I need SS to have sufficient points.

I understand from the DIAC website that the procedure is now that I submit my 176 visa application to DIAC first, and then apply for state sponsorship. However if the states are currently not accepting state sponsorship applications, what will happen to my 176 application if the state does not confirm their support within the 28 days? will it go into the pool (presumably then to be processed once SS confirmed) or would it be rejected as insufficient points and my fee lost?

any ideas?

Guest ChiltzandTig

I think that you need to have SS before you can apply for a 176 visa. Used to be that you could apply for a 175 visa, apply for SS, then switch to 176, but we have been told that this option has been closed.

Hence the need to wait for the states to finalize their migration plans.

Guest janeymcp

yes, that was my previous understanding too, but new info on DIAC website today seems to say you now sumit the 176 app first then follow up with state sponsorship??

Guest ChiltzandTig
yes, that was my previous understanding too, but new info on DIAC website today seems to say you now sumit the 176 app first then follow up with state sponsorship??

If you try to apply for a online 176 visa, the first page of the application form requires you to enter your state sponsored reference number!

Guest janeymcp

I know!- totally confusing - the news page says there are changes to the process but the page re how to apply seems just the same! i've e-mailed them to check

Guest celalit
I know!- totally confusing - the news page says there are changes to the process but the page re how to apply seems just the same! i've e-mailed them to check

Any update guys on this 176 ?

Guest Gollywobbler