First time buyer - home & land packages?

Guest loop the loop

Guest loop the loop

My partner is considering buying a house in Sydney (nearer to the city as he can get) but we can't really find anything suitable on the market for the two of us plus our dog. Having a dog means we need a garden, and there isn't really much out there it seems. We don't really want to pay a million bucks for a house, and don't mind living about an hours commute outside of the city, as he plans to work in the CBD and I plan on going to study at UNSW.

His parents will be putting in some money towards to house (for investment purposes) but I was just curious to know if we would be better off getting a home and land package?

I've seen prices quoted for as little as $187k for a 4 bed 2 bath house (although we probably wouldn't need a place that big!)...but there is nothing about the extra costs involved (land, and other fees).

I'm completely new to this, so I was wondering if anyone could explain how it works?

Of course, I am just curious as I don't even know if we can find home and land packages in Sydney! See...I'm completely clueless!

Cheers :confused:

Hi!

I'm in Perth, so no specific knowledge of Sydney as such, but a couple of things struck me when I read your post.

1. A house and land package for $187,000 is going to be a helluva long way from the city. These kinds of packages (in Perth, at least) tend to be on the very outer metro areas, so please look into the locations where these companies say they build. I can't imagine you'd be up for a two hour commute (one way) into the city, every day, at least from what you've indicated in your post it wouldn't be ideal.