Bad Timing? Any Advice for an Engineer?

Guest pookycat

Guest pookycat

Hello everyone

I'm very new to POM in fact this is the first post :eek: but I'm sure not the last. My husband and I have been through the whole process of thinking about, telling family of plans (met with various degrees of excitement) and reading a lot. So imagine my surprise when I look at the various sites to discover that things are changing!!!!!!!!!

My husband is 40 and a senior building services engineer although that can be classed as mechanical in the engineering world I believe. Anyway he is fully chartered and very experienced which we thought would have been enough to get us on our way to applying for a lovely independent skilled visa...

I'm now not sure what on earth to do what with all these changes going on; I was going to get his skills assessed by Engineers Australia as this would be relatively simple due to his chartership but do I then approach an agent or best get advice first? I have read many places that the assessment is the hardest part but now with these changes I don't know what to do asides ramble a bit - sorry :embarrassed:

Can anyone suggest my first port of call?

x

hello and good luck , id try an agent for a chat anyway , better really to have the fact asap, try go mathilda , give em a google and a ring , im sure you will get advice so you can think your options etc ! all the best , and its a great site for rambling:wink:

Guest Mattias

Hello pookycat! Its my first post as well, and I'm an engineer, I also think that my skills will be assessed as a mechanical engineer. Im from Denmark but in the same situation as U. Im 36 and was going to apply for the 175, just having 105 points without modl and 120 WITH modl, and then my world fell apart....more or less, just making a point.

I dont know what to do either.

I think I will get my skills assessed, just so I have then in case things changes, U never know. My wife cant get skills points.