Sign in to follow this  
Guest chuchu

Brit with Aussie partner

Guest chuchu

Hello everyone!

Love reading this forum...it's like therapy when I'm getting a bit nervous about our pending move!

I'm English and my boyfirend is Aussie, from Melbourne. He has been here for 3 years (stayed for me!) and not surprisingly is dying to go back. As his visa runs out in June, we are both going to head out there when I finish this school year (im a primary school teacher).

I know lots of people on here are moving to Oz with English partners, but just wondered if anyone was in my position and wanted to share their thoughts/worries/excitement!!!

I'm really excited and know I will love it, but I am worried about my mum who is unable to even discuss the topic. I know she doesn't want to stop me going, but it does make it hard!

Thanks in advance, would love to hear your stories

Chuchu x

Guest tinbasher

Hi Chuchu

How should we pronounce that? Like 'choo choo' as in Thomas the Tank Engine? Can't help you with the partner bit as we are both British. You will love it over here, no more lesson plans, just unit plans, plus no OFSTED!

My mum had a similar viewpoint but she is Ok now as she has seen how happy we are and how well our daughter has settled. I have heard of other parents that go the opposite way though, so I hope your mum does come around. It will be hard at times but you've got your whole life in front of you so grab what you can when you can, that's what I say. Although not a good attitude when there's English chocolate to be had, yum, yum.

All the best

Mrs TinB :)

Guest koala12

Hi Chuchu