Guest Jolaaled

Long term tourist visa

Guest Jolaaled

Hi all (my first post!).

Hope someone can help here.

I am a uk resident aged 50, and will be visiting my brother (Oz resident) in sydney this autumn (not yet booked flight tho).

I would like to stay for 1 year, ideally. I have read that the tourist visa can be granted for 3, 6 months or even up to 1 year. Is there anything i can do to help ensure that i get the 1-year extension.

Or..would it be better to go for the sponsored family visitor visa to maxmise my chances of staying for a whole year?

thanks all, for your help, in anticipation.

Guest Gollywobbler

Hi there

Welcome to Poms in Oz.

Are you British? If so, you probably wouldn't have any problem getting a 12 month sc 676 visa if you can show that you could support yourself in Oz for a year without having to work.

Does this help?

Best wishes

Gill

Guest eurosyl

Hi Jolaaled,

Welcome to Poms in Oz.

I applied for the 1 yr 676 visa and it was granted in 7 days (Dutch passport).

As said by Gollywobbler most important requirement is to show you have sufficient funds. I gave my 'base adress' in Oz, and stated that further travel plans were to be determined later. I also requested multiple entry as I may need to travel between home and Oz a few times. I was not asked for proof of travel insurance (although I have that in place as well as health insurance).

Be aware that condition 8503 'No Further Stay' may be added to your visa (it was to mine, and is normally done for the 12 month visa). That means that you are not allowed to apply for any other substantial visa while remaining in Australia. That also means you cannot apply for an extension of the 676 visa onshore (which is normally allowed for a maximum of another 6 months).