Appying for 175 visa in Oz???

nicrock

Hi all,

We are currently on a WHV in Oz which expires June 13th, we were going through the sponsorship process but had to withdraw the application as the compnay are closing. I have been welding for 11 years but only completed a 2 year informal apprenticeship, so I have no qualifications. My

I am looking to have my skills assessed by TAFE on the Gold Coast to see if I can gain my Certificate III. I was advised that this will enable me to class myself as a 1st Class Welder - if I fill in any skills gaps and pass the assessments.

I'm finding it impossible to find another welding job with my company closing as all require Qualifications aswell as experience. Hopefully the assessment process won't take too long so I can apply for the jobs as a qualified welder.

Were then looking into applying for a 175 visa whilst onshore if I get a Cert III, I believe we will be able to get a bridging visa with works rights whilst its being assessed? Then we just have to leave the country when the decision is given?

Can anyone give us any advice on this? We really want to stay where we have settled now and don't want to move which we may have to do with a state sponsored visa. The 175 seems like our best option to apply for to keep us here.

Guest Gollywobbler

Hi Nicrock

Welcome to Poms in Oz.

Were then looking into applying for a 175 visa whilst onshore if I get a Cert III, I believe we will be able to get a bridging visa with works rights whilst its being assessed? Then we just have to leave the country when the decision is given?