Guest nicorsts1

TRA - formal training/NVQ's, are NVQ's enough???

Guest nicorsts1

Hi all,

I'm after some help/information regarding my trade and qualification.

I've recently completed my NVQ Level 3 in Auto Electrical and have 6 years experience in the trade, i believe my trade is assessed by the TRA and have been told i need to provide proof of 900 hours of formal :wacko: training (not sure if this means hands on practical or text book theory).

My problem is that most of my NVQ portfolio is documented evidence of diagnosis and rectifying electrcial faults throughout all modern vehilce electrcial/electronic systems. I then had to complete 6 exams, so would this be classed as enough formal training?

Thanks

Paul

Guest WEZLY80

It should be ok mate. Im an electrician special class and i have nvq level 3 aswell. The 900hrs refers to the time spent at college( theory) for example i used to go in 6 week blocks between college and work for 2 years. Then the last 3 years of my apprentiship purely on site. So the TRA requires both qualifications from your college work and proof of on the job training aswell for a minimum of 5years.

Guest nicorsts1
It should be ok mate. Im an electrician special class and i have nvq level 3 aswell. The 900hrs refers to the time spent at college( theory) for example i used to go in 6 week blocks between college and work for 2 years. Then the last 3 years of my apprentiship purely on site. So the TRA requires both qualifications from your college work and proof of on the job training aswell for a minimum of 5years.

I can supply proof that i've been trained on the job upto NVQ level 3 since 2003 but its the theory side thats the problem for me. I was 24 when i started my training, prior to this the only electrical theory i'd studied was back in 1997 at college, i did a full time BTEC National Diploma in Auto Engineering but the Electrcal unit was approx 100 - 150 hours, very basic.