lift engineer jobs

tony_bezza

wanting to go out to Aus once i have passed out at NVQ level 3 in lift engineering. once i am a trained lift engineer with a years experience i want to emigrate with my girlfriend to Perth. Was wondering what my chances are and if i need to find a sponsor etc... I have heard that the lift industry in Aus is split into mechanical and electrical and was wondering if anybody on this forum knows how my nvq level 3 in lifts would stand up. Also how long do you have to be in Aus before you can apply for residency and then citizenship.

Guest Brissydeb

Hi Tony bezza, my hubbie (also a Tony & originally from Kent) and I have just got our 175visa. He is a staff engineer and he got his qualification by doing `the log books' (years ago).

We tried lots of lift companies in Perth and Brisbane for Sponsership but they don't seem to do this and like you to get your own visa. We got our visa quite quickly, only 8 months. But before that you have to have your skills assesed by the `TRA'. He got passed as a `Lift Mechanic'.

However, we want to go to Queensland so to fully work on lifts he will need a `Queensland Electrical Licence'. Which I think u can only get there once you are there! Perth also needs a licene. Where r u thinking about?

We went to OZ last May and visted 2 large lift companies and they are (at the moment) crying out for engineers but without the proper licence Tony could only part service the lifts. Which area are you in? He works for Kone in the service department and also does some repairs.

If you need any more info just pm me.

Thanks