Sign in to follow this  
Guest angela m

Where on earth do you start?

Guest angela m

Hi, my husband (who is an air conditioning engineer) and I have been thinking of emigrating for a while now.

I don’t mind filling out paper work/booklets etc, as I am currently a pen pusher, (Boo) but not very good at using computers, and was wondering if someone would be willing to share their experience with me about obtaining a skills visa and if it's better to go down this route on your own, or blow the budget and get an agency involved to help.

Also for planning I need to have an idea of how long the whole process takes?

Thank you

Angela :)

Guest jonseywife

Hi Angela

Glad you've taken the plunge in wanting to move to Oz - join the club!! :)

We are only half way through the process our selves, so still got lots to learn yet!! I'm no expert but I can roughly tell you what we had to do, if it helps (my hubby is plumber/gas fitter and were applying under the independant skilled visa 136).

Check out some of the links below, there is loads of info. (hope you like reading as well as filling in forms coz there is loads of both!!) :lol:

With you other half being in air conditioning, I would imagine he will be on the "wanted list "(MODL) Bonus points!!! Talking of points, there are loads of free on line points tests, even on this site I think.... to see if you qualify for the skilled visa (either independantly like us, or by getting a sponsor/job offer)

You could always have a chat with a visa agent to get some initial free advice, before you make up your mind. Also check out all the previous post on this forum about the Visa Agent subject too, there are lots of for's and against's on the subject!!!!

We used one, as we had a short time before my husband was 45 yrs old.. and needed get it done double quick & get it right first time!!!!

Firstly,Your hubby will need to get his trade recognised by the TRA (see link below) then you can apply for the full visa!!!!!!!!!