Guest oggie1

Aussie with Adopted Autistic Daughter

Guest oggie1

Hello all.

Sorry my first posting is a question:embarrassed:

I'm Rowena and was born in Aus but have lived in the UK for 30 years,I married Chris and we had 5 kids of our own all now Australian citizens by descent with Australian passports.Chris' PR visa has expired and we are currently trying to get him an RRV.

Now we adopted Alisha this year who is 3 years old and has been diagnosed as Autistic,would anybody have any idea on the likelihood of Alisha being granted or refused a Visa,people involved in Alishas life have commented that she is quite a high achieving child despite her difficulties.

Rowena.

Guest jillandsi

Hi Rowena,

Although I have no knowledge of whether Alisha would get a visa, I thought I would just mention that on britishexpats.com there is a member called Geelong Gent that has an autistic child and may be of help if you send him a private message, some of his postings are on the thread about parents pulling their children out of private schools (it is in the barbie forum, on page 2 or 3 I think).

I was just thinking though, I was under the impression that any children of an Australian citizen were automatically citizens and that it was just the official paperwork for the passport that needed sorted (as you implied on your post), so surely Alisha would be the same because even though she is not your natural child an adoption means that legally she is on the same footing as a natural child and therefore would automatically become a citizen also.

I'm sure you will get other, more informed replies but hopefully this will be O.K. for now.

Jillian

Bumping this for you - you need Gollywobbler!!!