You're currently viewing the forum as a Guest
register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

Guest MelW

Help, will we find work and decent money !!!!

Guest MelW

We are currently in the process of applying for visa to Brisbane, husband has passed first stage on skills assesment. We are struggling to find any info on jobs out there and what kind of money we can expect. We have two kids, one of each flavour, 4 & 16 month, oh my god can't believe we are doing this, any help appreciated. My husbands trade us a Plant Fitter and has full city guilds and has worked in same trade for over 19 years, as a job here I am a payroll supervisor.

Guest gail.crease

This website seems to be the main one for Australia.

http://www.seek.com.au/

I think you have to resign yourself to the fact that you're going to earn a lot less over there. I'm an accountant and the OH is in IT and we've just recovered from the shock of how much we can earn compared to the UK. It's not going to put us off though as we want the lifestyle more than money now.

I've been watching the BBC series all week and the same issue comes up regarding the wages. No-one is going to get rich moving to Australia no matter what your job is.

Good luck

Hi my hubby is a network engineer for cable TV, he was on good money in UK - been offerred a starting salary of $48,000 pa here in WA which we're told is pretty much the norm.

I just want PIO to be a happy place where people are nice to each other and unicorns poop rainbows