Primary school teacher wanting to teach in WA!!

Guest Dobbsy Family

Guest Dobbsy Family

Hi there - I am a primary school teacher looking to emigrate to WA and was wondering if anyone knew anything about the DETs sponsorship scheme for teachers. I understand that secondary teachers are only being sought after at the mo, but that primary teachers will be for 2009 and 2010!! Yipeeeeee!

The only thing is I have 3 children 4, 6 and 8 and a hubby who obviously will be coming with me and my worry is that 'apparently' through this sponsorship scheme you have no real say in 'where' you end up teaching. I don't mind working in a rural school - I did this 10 years ago in a fab school in mid NSW and had a great time, but I was single then with only myself to consider.

My main worry is that I may end up in a 'bad' area - if there are such areas -!! Obviously I'd want my girls to go to a good school - the choice may be out of my control!!

Am I taking a massive risk here?

Has anyone had any experience on this scheme !

I'd LOVE to hear from you!!!!

Warmest Regards

The Dobbs Family

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx:chatterbox:

Guest North of perth

Hello,

We are on 457 sponsorship and have been here over a year. Its currently High School at the moment but we are primary.

They say you should be prepared to go any place, however you can tell them what areas you are and not interested in. They take this into account.

eg we said not interested in anything higher than Carnarvon and didnt want Kalgoorlie.

I have kids aged 16,10,8 and 3 so know the worries you have. However its worked out great for us. If its any help the people who were single tended to get the far out/hotter places.

The scheme can work but its a bit like a leap of faith. We had never even visited OZ and so I was worried sick on the flight over. However we are now here to stay and planning on staying in rural OZ.

Nobody can guarantee the town you will get and only you must decide what your willing to chance.