Primary school teachers in QLD/Brisbane

LaLa

Hi

Is anyone a Primary School Teacher in Brisbane or QLD? From what I've heard it sounds very competitive.... I am worried that I wont be able to find work as a teacher:unsure:. Please could you tell me about your experiences of job hunting and getting a job?

I am emigrating to Brisbane in October. I am a qualified Primary school teacher I have a degree in Business I.T (three years course) and a PGCE (one year course) but only two years experience.

Thanks

Not in Brisbane but in general in Australia there are plenty of primary school teachers and the competition can be fierce for the more desirable areas. If you are prepared to work in places where there are more problem kids or further out of the CBD away from the coast then you may have more luck. What you will have going for you is that you dont have many years experience so you will be cheaper to employ than someone who has been doing it since Noah was a lad. Not sure about Queensland but some states have a policy where in state education, you basically have to do your hardship posting before they will consider you for a "plum" position.

What you do need to do is to bolster your cv with some sort of marketable specialization - like special ed, behaviour management, music etc and look at what extra curricular contribtion you can make. Also be prepared to look at non government school positions - the Catholic system is very strong here.

If you persevere and are prepared to maybe go where others dont want to go then you should be OK.

hi there

i am also a primary teacher living in brisbane. I have been told that in order to teach you need to have all your skills registered here in Australia. I am not sure if you could start the ball rolling in the uk beforehand (if your visa has come through) as it can take 2 to 3 months to get this done before you can teach. The website is:

www.qct.edu.au