DAMA far north QLD

Please someone help me with questions about DAMA!

Getting so many conflicting responses online and generally get the impression it's so new no one really knows much about it? 

My occupation (midwife) is on the MTSOL. I'm looking at a 482 visa but am about to turn 43 so by the time I have 2 years working in Australia I will be too old to apply for a 186. My understanding is that if I work in an area that has DAMA status (in my case hopefully far north QLD) the age restriction for PR applications with my occupation is lifted to 50. Has anyone gone this route yet? I'm guessing if my occupation is on the list employers are desperate for staff so finding an employer to sponsor should be possible? I'm working with a recruiter but they obviously push the roles they earn commission from which is not this route so would likely be applying independently. 

I'm wondering why you're not applying for a permanent visa right now?    

The fact that an occupation is on the list doesn't mean employers are desperate, I'm afraid.   The lists are supposed to reflect occupations in demand, but they always lag behind reality.  I don't know what the demand for midwives is like but someone else may know. Having said that, the reason DAMA exists is because it's so hard to get staff to work in remote areas, which often have a lack of rental properties, poor infrastructure/lack of schools and often a challenging climate as well. 

Have you seen a good migration agent?   As you say, you can get a distorted view from recruiters because of their payment structure.  You don't have to hire the migration agent, just pay for a one-off consultation.   Then you'll know exactly where you stand, which will save a lot of time (and at 43, time is of the essence!).   Get quotes from Suncoast Migration and Go Matilda.

Edited by Marisawright
  • Like 1