Returning to UK after aged 60

Don QuayPoly

Here I am at the ripe age of 60, and planning the big move back home to the UK. Like most people in this position I'm a sponge for any information I can absorb from others who are willing to help, and I thank you in advance for that.

I understand that now I've reached 60 (and retired) I can now access my superfund ,tax free. And if I were to withdraw all of my money and place it in my bank account in AU, it then becomes seen as my personal savings, which I can then transfer to the UK, tax free.

Sounds great, but is it really my best option ?

Once I transfer it into my UK bank, what do I do with it then ? I guess opening an ISA is one option but apart from that I'm lost. I have no experience of buying /selling shares etc, but I need to put in place a means to fund my UK retirement.

So I ask myself, - would it be better to leave some or all in the AU super fund, and draw down a monthly amount ? I realise that this would all form part of my UK income and be taxed accordingly, plus there would be monthly transfer fees. But still ... could it be worth thinking about, or this there a better option staring me in the face. ( Superfund is about $1m )

Thanks all 

Edited by Don QuayPoly
spelling
  • Like 1

7 hours ago, Don QuayPoly said:

Here I am at the ripe age of 60, and planning the big move back home to the UK. Like most people in this position I'm a sponge for any information I can absorb from others who are willing to help, and I thank you in advance for that.

I understand that now I've reached 60 (and retired) I can now access my superfund ,tax free. And if I were to withdraw all of my money and place it in my bank account in AU, it then becomes seen as my personal savings, which I can then transfer to the UK, tax free.

Sounds great, but is it really my best option ?