Unsure whether to return to UK

Lomandra

I'm 42, single, unfortunately no kids and moved to Australia with my (now ex) partner in 2009. I fell into a well paid job five or so years ago and own my own home here however I really want to return to the UK. My family has never been particularly close apart from my Auntie but my niece was born in October and after spending time there over Christmas it really reinforced how much I hate it and feel alone here. I'd been feeling that way for some years but I think this really highlighted it. I have no family here and a couple of good friends but nothing that is enough to keep me here. The problem is the cost of living in the UK and the very low wages. My job equivalent in the UK pays only £23,000 to start where as here it is an awful lot higher and financially I can't see how I could make it work when I'd have to pay rent and other living expenses out of that. My job is quite niche and whilst I have a degree I'm not really trained for anything else so would likely be in some close to minimum wage job over there.