Taking the 25% lump sum from UK private pension

InnerVoice

I intend to retire at the end of the current Australian tax year.

I have a UK private pension which I can take a 25% lump sum from. This is somewhat less than I've been earning per annum, but I can last on it for a year until I can get my Aussie super.

I know I have to declare the lump sum to the ATO because it's taxable here in Australia, but do I need to inform the HMRC or complete a British tax return? Also, can I draw the remainder of my British pension at at $18,200/annum (the tax-free threshold) and withdraw my Aussie super at the same time - without paying tax on any of it? 

Many thanks in advance to anyone who can advise.

3 hours ago, Sloth said:

Why would you complete a UK tax return if you're resident for tax purposes in Australia?

I'm not entirely clear on the process, which is why I asked the question. I wasn't sure if I'd need to inform the HMRC that I was an Australian resident for tax purposes. My understanding is that once you start drawing the other 75%, the pension provider deducts tax at source if you're a UK resident, so how do you obtain the tax back on that money back if you're an overseas resident?

The 25% will be taxed but with my recent lump sum (from local gov pension) only the growth from when I became an Aus resident was taxed. So not the full amount. I obtained a valuation from the pension on that date. Not sure if this will be the case for you.

The remaining payments were taxed at source until my UK tax code was changed. I had to fill in a form and return it to the ATO who then sent it to HMRC who told the pension company not to tax at source. This took some time! I lodged a UK return to claim the tax paid to HMRC. I did use an accountant (qualified in UK and Aus )who advised me though.

• Like 1

8 minutes ago, rammygirl said: