189 or 186 or 482

BeCann

Hi, 

I’m a general practitioner doctor aiming to move to Victoria next year, I have an employer already. The plan was to apply for the 482 visa and I have been in the process of assessment paperwork. Recently, my employer’s agent has suggested I apply for a 189 visa as they appear to be rushed through currently and not to read into the published processing times. I see the obvious advantages of a PR visa but I’m apprehensive about the longer waiting periods. Does anyone else have experience of this quicker processing 189 visa? What’s the waiting period for an EOI?

Is it possible to emigrate on a 482 visa and then apply for a 189 visa onshore?

Alternatively, a 186 nomination visa has been discussed which apparently has a 5-7 month waiting period just for the nomination to be approved. Would this be a better option to the 189 visa as it has shorter published processing times for the actual visa than 189? I like my employer and looking forward to working with them so I’m not concerned about being tied into a contract with them. 

Thanks for any help. 

I appreciate it is a golden visa but current reported processing times are almost two years (for 25%), unless these really are out dated and not realistic processing times. If they are true then it’s not worth the wait. I guess that’s what I am trying to ascertain.

27 minutes ago, BeCann said:

I appreciate it is a golden visa but current reported processing times are almost two years (for 25%), unless these really are out dated and not realistic processing times. If they are true then it’s not worth the wait. I guess that’s what I am trying to ascertain.

The two year period applies to only 25% of those visas and they would be from 'high risk' countries which require far more stringent security clearances than the UK.