Remote Work as a UK Citizen - tax issues?

MuscleSprout

Hi folks - I'm a self employed book keeper in the UK and am soon to travel to Australia as a perm citizen.  As I work remotely and my work isn't time sensitive I can carry on doing this in Australia.  Has anyone else done this and has any knowledge about the tax implications?  I'm thinking I should set up a UK limited company and pay myself dividends as a director based in Australia.  If anyone can point me in the direction of a professional with some knowledge on this I'd be grateful.

As you're self-employed, it shouldn't be a problem.  As a web designer, I've done work for people in the US, UK, Italy and Australia without any trouble. 

Over time, you'll want to start attracting Australian clients so it will be much more efficient if you set up an Australian business which can service your UK clients and also add in Australian clients as you find them.

I'm set up as a sole trader in Australia.  It's very simple, all you need is a ABN.   You may end up needing to submit a tax return in both countries but it's not a huge deal.  @Alan Collett will be able to advise. 

• Like 2

On 09/07/2022 at 22:24, MuscleSprout said:

Hi folks - I'm a self employed book keeper in the UK and am soon to travel to Australia as a perm citizen.  As I work remotely and my work isn't time sensitive I can carry on doing this in Australia.  Has anyone else done this and has any knowledge about the tax implications?  I'm thinking I should set up a UK limited company and pay myself dividends as a director based in Australia.  If anyone can point me in the direction of a professional with some knowledge on this I'd be grateful.