Hecs loans

partnership

Hi, yes pretty sure you can. But you have to be a citizen from memory. They will only fund you so many times at each level. So I think it was 3 undergraduate degrees for example. They then take the repayments straight from your wages once you earn over a certain amount. Sorry I don’t know what that amount is these days, $52000 or there abouts maybe? Others will be better informed. Sorry lots of maybes in my answer! 
What are you thinking of doing? That might help others with a more detailed answer.

3 hours ago, partnership said:

Thanks Amber. My son has been studying part time to be a teacher. He works full time as does his wife with 2 children. He has struggled to pay the fees. He has just got his citizen cert and thinking about getting the loan.

It’s hard isn’t it. I have always admired people who retrain once they have more “life responsibilities”, I  have never been able to afford to and now can’t be bothered anyway! 😅

I'm studying with the Open Uni and I use HECS to pay for the study. As long as my yearly income never goes above the threshold set by the ATO I'll never have to pay it back. I just checked the ATO website and the threshold is nil below $47014, then 1 per cent up to $54,282, and increases by 1 per cent gradually. https://www.ato.gov.au/Rates/HELP,-TSL-and-SFSS-repayment-thresholds-and-rates/#HELPandTSLrepaymentthresholdsandrates201

I did pay about $3,000 in HECS about five years ago when I had a "big" year for income but usually I pay nothing. If you do have to pay HECS you do it on your tax return not when you enrol in a course/unit.

• 4 weeks later...
On 19/03/2022 at 03:54, MARYROSE02 said: