Return resident visa -UK

GK1

Hi Guys,

Been trying to find the answers online/ Forums/ and even contacted gov.uk by paying ~$5 but there isnt a clear answer. hope you guys can help me here and I will appreciate any reply.

I was a permanent resident (ILR) in the UK before moving to down under about 6 years ago. we are planning to returning to the UK considering a number of factors. My Partner and kids are Brits but I have to apply for a return resident visa which I am preparing to do.

I am trying to find out is there a time limit to enter the UK after getting the visa? I am looking to apply soon but not sure how long the process will take - seen the time frames but it has always been tentative one right? 🙂 

if it takes a little longer to get the visa, I may wait until the school term starts in the UK before moving. so a little worried, they will make me apply again

when we had the Permanent residency approved for Australia, we had about 1 year to enter the country.

thanks

SG

33 minutes ago, Marisawright said:

I wasn’t aware the UK even had a resident return visa, I thought you just had to start again with a new spouse visa

Just checked, your ILR lapses if you are out of the country for 2 or  more years so the OP will have to apply for a new visa I think

Your indefinite leave will lapse if you stay outside the UK for 2 or more years (5 or more, if granted settled status under the EU Settlement Scheme) at a time. If you’re a Swiss citizen with settled status under the EU Settlement Scheme your indefinite leave will lapse if you stay outside the UK for 4 years or more in a row.

Edited by Quoll

Actually checked further and there  is a return resident visa, sounds much like the Australian one, costs £516.  Always a good move to get UK citizenship if you can before you leave!

If you were away for more than 2 years (Returning Resident visa)

You lose your indefinite leave to remain if you’ve been outside the UK for 2 or more continuous years.