Secondary teacher 189 visa

Hi,

My partner and I are currently looking into emigrating but finding the whole process confusing.

I am a secondary teacher with an estimated 85 points, so in theory should be able to gain the 189 visa.

However, it seems that only engineers with 90 points are being invited to apply.

Am I correct in thinking this? Are any teachers currently applying? Or being successful?

Teaching (secondary) is still high on the demand/desired list so I’m just abit confused!

Thanks for any feedback and/or advice !

🙂

8 hours ago, Kristie said:

My partner and I are currently looking into emigrating but finding the whole process confusing.

I am a secondary teacher with an estimated 85 points, so in theory should be able to gain the 189 visa.

No, in theory you don't stand a chance. 

You only need 65 points to apply, but it's a competitive process.  It's just like applying for a job - everyone who applies for the job is qualified, but the shortlist is made up of the people with the best qualifications, and the other applications are discarded.

For several years now, there have been so many applicants with 95 to 100 points, they've filled the "short list" and there's been no need for Immigration to even look at other applicants.  So 85 points is not nearly enough. Is that including the English test?

You would stand a chance of getting a 190 or 491 visa.  Points are much less relevant for them, because they are offered by the individual states, and each state decides what's important for them. They'll be looking at what subjects you teach, for instance.  

Teachers are still in demand because it's so difficult to find teachers willing to work in country areas. There's no shortage of teachers in the major cities, in fact teachers are having trouble finding work. 

Edited by Marisawright

12 hours ago, wrussell said: