Visa Advice - Newly Qualified Primary Teacher

Family R

Hi All,

Apologies for the vague question. What visa would my wife apply for with the below criteria? I’m struggling to work it out from the points calculators available online and whether she’d need some form of sponsorship.

She is 40 years old

Finishes her 3 year Primary Education degree with qualified teacher status next year.

Does placement count as experience when calculating points?

I’m 45 years old

We have 3 children

Looking to move to Queensland.

any advice would be hugely appreciated

Not going to qualify as a teacher I am afraid. Teaching requires 4 year university training, a 3 year degree isnt going to cut it.  Not sure which states, if any are supporting primary teachers these days, they often want something additional, like a second language - Australia isnt short of primary teachers and even if she got a visa, the chances of getting a job in a place anyone wants to live in are rather slim.

Thanks for the reply.

Is that an Australian criteria as it’s a full primary degree course but it’s 3 years not 4? There is no 4 year option and she’ll qualify with fully qualified teacher status as it’s a full teacher degree not an add on to an existing degree.

That's the quirkiness of immigration to Australia. 

Following from what Quoll says (ignoring any work sentiments), it is not possible to obtain a positive skills assessment as a Primary School Teacher with a 3 year degree. Ironically you could obtain teaching registration from Queensland to teach, based on the 3 year teaching degree, without any need for English tests.