Contracting in Aus for a UK company, temporarily

Gothnet

Hi there,

Just moved (back) to WA and I'm trying to figure out how best to approach to an employment finance issue, (so I hope I'm posting in the right section!)

I worked as a contractor in the UK with my own company, for about 10 years. My last client, who I worked with for a while this year and last year, would like to continue the relationship and may want to employ me when they expand into Australia sometime next year. But until that happens, does anyone know the best way to continue to work for them, bill them in the UK and take the income here in Australia, while complying with all the Australian tax rules?

I'm thinking that engaging an umbrella company might be the easiest way - that way I'm sort-of employed here in Australia, the UK company pays the Australian umbrella, tax and fees are deducted at that point, and I get paid quite normally.

Is this a workable plan? Does anyone know any good umbrella companies?

Or should I be getting an ABN and invoicing directly, then working out the tax myself/getting an accountant? Is it worth the hassle for what might only be six months?

I've been a contractor in the UK for a decade, but am quite unsure of the rules here!

Cheers!

As above, even registering for GST is easy all can be done on line. It will be worth getting a tax accountant to do your returns, especially to begin with as the system is different to the Uk. How they pay May be an issue though pounds or  dollars into an Aus account, also factoring in exchange rates.

Interesting, thanks. So it sounds like ABN + accountant.

It’s difficult to know if I should register for GST, as I don’t know how long the contracting phase will carry on. If it’s more than a few months then it will break the threshold.

Also from what I can tell I may have to register for GST but as I would be selling the service overseas, not actually have to charge it?