Ship Master Immigration and COR by AMSA

CaptainN

Good Day all,

Anyone appearing for Ship Master's COR from AMSA in coming months.

I have given my documents for skills assessment from India. Can someone guide me on the next step after getting positive skills assessment.

1) Can I apply for EOI for 491 visa after obtaining positive skills assessment or I need to appear for my COR orals prior that. If so should I apply for a visitor visa first in order to arrive 

and give orals.

2) How are orals exam for Master's COR, I got my Indian master mariner COC in 2018 and is presently sailing as a master on container ship. 

Appearing for a Master's exam again even though I am sailing as a Master mariner is really awkward. It would be a great help if someone can share  the kind of questions being asked.

Is there any WhatsApp group for orals preparations which I can join.

• Like 1

You will apply submit your documents for assessment, then you need to sit the AMSA Oral and Medical, then you get a letter which you can use to apply for the visa. Once you have the visa you can then submit that to AMSA and they will issue your CoR. Some AMSA exams are being held virtually at the moment, which may prevent the need for you to travel to Oz for them. 

The orals are comprehensive and similar to an AMSA Master CoC exam, no concession for experience. They work through a checklist going through Australian legislation, buoys and RoR.

Edited by CaptainR

Thanks CaptainR for your response. 

Can you guide me which checklist they use to conduct oral exam. What I could find on AMSA website is checklist for COR https://www.amsa.gov.au/qualifications-training/international-qualifications/deck-and-engineer-certificates-recognition and syllabus here is much lesser than syllabus for Master COC exam.