Considering Parents visa - its daunting!

Hamish

Hi there,

I'm a newbie on here and I'm sure this has been asked a zillion times, but here goes...

We are retired, mid 60's, living in Spain and looking to emigrate to be with our Permanent Citizen son in OZ,  who would be our sponsor.

The Contributory Parent Visa was our choice but looking at the latest threads re the possibility of  caps being lowered and possible price rises, not to say the possible increase of the current 5 year application and issue times, its looking less likely of us ever being able to get there.

So a couple of questions...

Are there any other options or routes we could consider? Visiting ( when allowed) for longer periods of time?

Other types of linked visas that would  ultimately get us there?

Would we be better paying for / consulting an agent?

Is there a benefit of applying on shore as to off shore?

Any thoughts or suggestions please?

Thanks in advance.......................

52 minutes ago, Hamish said:

The Contributory Parent Visa was our choice but looking at the latest threads re the possibility of  caps being lowered and possible price rises, not to say the possible increase of the current 5 year application and issue times, its looking less likely of us ever being able to get there.

The bad news is that it wouldn't be 5 years for you.  Visas that are being processed now have taken 5 years to get to the front of the queue (i.e. they applied in 2015).  That's the figure that's quoted on the government website.  However it's highly misleading, because the queue has got MUCH longer since then.

If you apply tomorrow, you'll be waiting at least 10 years before you stand any chance of being awarded the visa.

There is no better option for a permanent move.  Once the borders reopen, there is nothing to stop you visiting every year on a tourist visa for 3 to 6 months.  There are also temporary parent visas but I can't help you with those.