Electrical Gap training

Chris g100

1 hour ago, Chris g100 said:

Hi

Has anyone gone through the electrician gap training in Australia and can tell me what’s involved?Im currently a rail signal electrician but from what I’m reading I would need to complete my gap training in domestic and industrial?

thanks

Chris I will pm you if I may 

Hi Chris 

not sure if it changes much from state to state but I did my Gap training in Adelaide. 

if you have your OTSR you can apply for a restricted license that will class you as a TA until you complete the training to get the Cert 3 required to get the full license. 

The gap training here is generally a 3 week block in college which runs you through the regs and sit a capstone exam at the end of it. 

Once the college work is done you will need to document around 6 months of work experience. If you are already working you might be able to use some of that to help cover the 6 months. 

it’s a pain to do but worth it in the end. 

good luck 

Thanks for the reply.

what are the options like without an otsr?im going through the process but the Mrs can get us over there quicker.

is it not possible to work as a trades assistant without the restricted licence?just wondering what would happen when on shore.

also with the work experience does it have to be in a specific area for example could I not use experience in risk because it’s not domestic?

thanks

I work with a guy from Canada and he is now struggling to get his OTSR but that’s mainly because he had limited post apprentice experience before he moved out. 

if you can get it over there it would be much easier to transfer when you come out here. I know they run courses out of Melbourne but not sure on times etc. 

not sure how it works without the restricted license but you can definitely still work as a TA. Just have to be careful with what you want to do and what sites as they like to see licenced trades over here.