Best state to apply to for midwife with a family?

armada

Hi everyone,

I wonder if anyone has any insight into this for me? I'm a UK midwife qualified 2018 and have 75 points for 190/189 with my data scientist husband as a skilled partner. I am the main applicant (37 yrs old). Proper regional/outback work assignments are out of the questions as we have an 18 month old daughter so need and want to be by a city/suburban infrastructure, schools etc.

Perth is off our list as it only considers 190s for midwives OUTSIDE of Mandurrah and Perth.

Melbourne/Victoria I have family there (great uncle/aunt, cousins) but I didn't fall in love with it when I visited and the climate is not really what we're looking for.

NSW seems prohibitively expensive in the areas that we'd find work (Sydney) so that is also not a great option.

We have plumped for Queensland on our EOI as it seems to have the right balance of climate/affordability and my hubby says he has seen lots of jobs there for him but then I keep reading that midwife jobs are few and far between because this state is so popular. I've recently started to wonder if SA would be a better fit? We have a migration agent who has been great but she can't really help with choosing a state, especially in times of covid....any ideas anyone?

Have you looked into all the Regional areas? Quite a few are not remote like you would expect and perfect for raising a family. In fact some of the Regional areas for QLD when i last looked are about 40 mins (if that) from the Gold Coast beaches, others less than an hour into Brisbane city,lol, not very remote at all really. I am sure the same will apply to some regional areas in other states so check carefully before writing them off. Also bear in mind you wouldnt have to stay in a regional area forever if you didnt want to.

Cal x