Qualifications for Construction Site Manager?

LJL

Hi All,

I’m exploring the best route for a visa and would like to know if anyone has information on what Vetasses require in the way of qualifications for site managers.

I can always apply as a carpenter, as I have NVQ 3 in carpentry and joinery (10 years exp as a carpenter), but I have been a site manager for the past 7 years and would be seeking a management role in Aus.

I have CIOB level 4 in site management, SMSTS, First Aid etc. Is this enough?

Thanks

7 hours ago, Marisawright said:

Your focus needs to be on what you need to do to get a visa.  Once you've got a permanent visa and you've arrived in Australia, you can do any kind of work you like - it doesn't matter what occupation you used to get the visa. 

Thanks for the reply, however, don’t I ‘technically’ need to have been working as a carpenter recently?

3 hours ago, LJL said:

Thanks for the reply, however, don’t I ‘technically’ need to have been working as a carpenter recently?

For a positive skills assessment, you ‘actually’ need to have been working in your occupation for 12 months in the last 3 years: “Your evidence must show you have worked in your occupation for at least 12 months within the last 3 years.”

What occupation do you think you map to?

Based on your previous posts, you have already held a permanent visa. Have you looked properly at an RRV?

Edited by paulhand
  • Like 2

@LJL, if Paul has looked at your other posts and thinks an RRV is worth a try, then I'd be contacting him and hiring him to submit one for you.  It may not look good on paper, but we've seen people get a RRV on apparently flimsy grounds before. 

Currently, you won't get far with any other visa application anyway as things are at a standstill due to Covid.  

Edited by Marisawright

On 06/02/2021 at 21:25, LJL said:

Hi All,