EOI for Global Talent Independent (GTI)

scondes

G'day, 

I'd like to submit an EOI for the Global Talent Independent visa and wanted to talk to people who have been through this process.  

I'm currently not sure which sector I fit best under, although I am sure I would be considered a distinguished talent. I am a cognitive scientist currently working as a researcher at a university in Australia and have completed my Ph.D. in the last three years. My research area does not directly come under MedTech or Data Science but straddles these two sectors. 

Does anyone else have experience of this?

Cheers

9 hours ago, scondes said:

G'day, 

I'd like to submit an EOI for the Global Talent Independent visa and wanted to talk to people who have been through this process.  

I'm currently not sure which sector I fit best under, although I am sure I would be considered a distinguished talent. I am a cognitive scientist currently working as a researcher at a university in Australia and have completed my Ph.D. in the last three years. My research area does not directly come under MedTech or Data Science but straddles these two sectors. 

Does anyone else have experience of this?

Cheers

Unless the Oz definition is significantly less than the US definition I don't think being a researcher with a 3 year old PhD is enough to qualify as a distinguished talent. There are over 3 million PhD holders in the US alone, thats a lot of distinguished talent - more than 10% of the Australian population

Hi,

Coincidentally, I was on a webinar last week specifically discussing this GT Visa.

Whilst the presenter acknowledged a "high bar" of achievement/criteria is required, for the duration of this (actively pushed by the Gvmt) programme, there are applicants who have been accepted who "do not appear to come within the published details."
It is "policy-driven" which apparently provides a significant degree of flexibility if you are or have been Internationally recognised.