Rebecca2021

Hiya! Hoping someone can give me a little more clarity ..

I am a qualified Beauty Therapist of 17 years (with management experience) and I am doing a teaching course at present. I am hoping to make the move to Oz next year ( seeing as this year is a write off travel wise) and I have looked on the skills shortage list and Beauty Salon Manager is on the 494 Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional provisional visa. 

When it says sponsored, does it mean that before I apply for the visa I have to have sponsorship in place? Or is is something that can be sorted once I've sent my EOI? Also how do people go about finding sponsorship? I lived in Brisbane for a year on a WHV and worked in a salon, and I know that salons in the chain are within the regional postcode lists, but I am just confused with how you get the process started. Also is it worthwhile starting it now or wait until later in the year? 

Any help would be amazing! 

Yes, it means you have to find an employer willing to sponsor you.   It's not at all easy, I'm afraid.  It's an expensive and complex process for the employer, and it can take up to a year to get the visa approved, so most employers will just settle for a less-able local candidate, rather than go through all the rigmarole and delay.   

If you want to give it a try, then most vacancies are advertised on Seek.  It's also worth networking on LinkedIn and writing to employers.

If you want to apply for a visa as a teacher, you'll need to complete a 4-year teaching degree and then get a few years' teaching experience.  Once again, the processing time for the visa is a year or so - so whichever method you use, it's very unlikely you'll be able to move next year.  

Edited by Marisawright