Do I stay or do I go?

Sambry

Hello,
I’m from the UK, I’m currently in QLD on a subclass 600 holiday visa with my girlfriend and 3 children (11,7 and 1) and that visa is coming to an end on the 5th of December
I am a carpenter by trade and after spending time here and the current covid situation we decided to try and stay (my parents live here in qld to they came out in 2008).  
We were hoping to get a subclass 189 visa, with 70 points. We submitted a submission of interest on the 29th of September but I am concerned that the process might take longer then we anticipated if it happens at all.

Had anyone else been in a similar situation? I’m really not sure if I should apply for another 12 month holiday visa (and not be able to work and home school children still) or just return to the uk and await a response from there. 

Work is my main issue, as we have been here nearly a year now with no income and our savings are staring to run low, and the open ended timings “could take years” have me feeling uneasy about it all. 

I’m expecting people to tell me to stop being so stupid and just go back to England but I’d like to try and stay if it’s an option at all, but right now I feel like I should just book the flights home.....

thanks to anyone that reads! 

You have absolutely NO chance of getting a 189 visa on 70 points, ever.  None.   

Even before the pandemic, no one was getting invited with less than 90 points.  Everyone is saying it's going to be even harder now, because unemployment has risen with the pandemic, so the goverment is touchy about letting in more migrants.