Resident Return Visa

Joanne Donnelly

Hi

I have just returned to the UK.  Although I am not planning on returning to Oz anytime soon and with the pandemic who knows if I could anyway! 

I like to understand the options available... I am a prem resident and my RRV travel facility part of visa expired in August 2020 just as we landed in UK. 

So as far as I gather, to return to OZ ever we would need to apply for a RRV and you have to fit into certain eligibility criteria.  For us we would have been living in oz for the total of 36 months in the last 5 years.  I say months as this has been split. We arrived and lived for 20 months then went travelling for a while (overseas) and then returned again for 16 months. 

It states that you must have been in Oz for 2 years out of 5 years so I gather we would be eligible for the visa.

My question is, when do you need to apply for it or how long can you leave it to apply?  

If I apply now I have the criteria but if I leave it for a year will it not apply any longer?

Any advice would be great!

The criteria for automatic grant of a 5 year RRV  is 2 out of the preceding 5 years at the point of application.  So yes if you leave it too long  this may be an issue.  You should be able to work out when this will no longer be the case. That is total time spent in Aus it doesn’t have to be continuous.

To add if you do not meet that criteria you may still get a 1 year RRV if you can prove close ties that are of benefit to Australia.  Once you have been out of Aus for 5 years then it gets more complicated again.

Oh and rules can and do change......

13 hours ago, Joanne Donnelly said:

I have just returned to the UK. ... I am a prem resident and my RRV travel facility part of visa expired in August 2020 just as we landed in UK.