Advice on Paperwork and Getting Organised for a move back to UK

LittleLadyJayne

Hi Everyone,

After some very wise advice from members in this community, I am finally summoning up the courage to move back to the UK after 13 years away.

It's something I have been thinking about for about 5 years, but kept putting off (kept putting it into the too hard basket!). But as I approach my 40's (I am 39) I'm tired of never feeling settled in Australia, and the pull back home is hard to ignore any longer. I miss family, the English countryside and so much more. There is only one way to know if I'll feel settled back in England, and that is to give it ago! eek!

I left when I was 26, and still have a UK bank account and would have paid into my government pension up to this age. I haven't paid tax in the UK for 13 years and don't believe I would qualify for NHS, etc. As far as the UK sees me, I am a resident, but not a tax paying resident which I understand is different.

I'm starting from a knowledge base of zero as to what I need to prepare, organise and get ready for a move back.

FYI, I have an Australian and UK passport so this gives me some options further down the line.

Does anyone have any advice on where to start? 

Thank you! 

You can back pay NI from Australia for the some of years you have been away - lower rate I believe but I haven’t done it (should have but been here too long). You might want to do that before you go. 

We just went on holiday and did come back - it was remarkably easy to get started back there for us - I still have a UK bank account which certainly helped. We basically had what was in our backpacks and that was it. My DH found it more of a chore to get a new one but that may just have been him!