IELTS/OET

Hi

Could someone please explain the difference between the IELTS and the OET?

I have been told to do one of them and have no idea which is best or more beneficial to me! I do have an agent but I am just looking to hear from someone who has done these tests!

Thank you

• 2 weeks later...
On 04/07/2020 at 15:44, Maria18 said:

Hi

Could someone please explain the difference between the IELTS and the OET?

I have been told to do one of them and have no idea which is best or more beneficial to me! I do have an agent but I am just looking to hear from someone who has done these tests!

Thank you

OET is specifically designed for Healthcare professionals so if you are a nurse/doctor, go ahead for this one as it is comparatively easier than IELTS. I'm a RN, but when I started my Immi process, OET was not yet into action so I ended up giving IELTS Academic three times and it was one nightmare. lol

• Like 1

Thank you Raul. I am a registered Mental Health Nurse. I have been informed by my agent that I will need to do the English test to increase my points as I don't have enough without it. (In total after English test, I will have 70 points), and hoping for either 190 or 491 regional visa in VIC.

10 hours ago, Maria18 said:

Thank you Raul. I am a registered Mental Health Nurse. I have been informed by my agent that I will need to do the English test to increase my points as I don't have enough without it. (In total after English test, I will have 70 points), and hoping for either 190 or 491 regional visa in VIC.

In that case, I recommend you get the English test done asap.  I've read so many posts here from people with English degrees, who've struggled to get a good mark on the English tests.  It sounds like your mark for the English test will be do-or-die for your chances of migration.

On 13/07/2020 at 15:04, Maria18 said:

Thank you, Pooja. I think I will be going for the OET. Do you know if this is still as recognised and accepted as the IELTS?