General advice

Lauren Close

Hi,

My husband & I are looking to move to Australia with our two children 4 & almost 2. My husband’s a qualified electrician but is also a regional facilities manager at the minute and I am an administrator/contract support. 

We have looked into each area and are quite keen to try and set up a life in Brisbane. We like the idea of being close to the Gold Coast but also being near the city. Would you all say this would be a good choice for raising a family in Oz or would other areas be better? What sort of areas outside Brisbane would be a good start to look at for trying to pinpoint an area we would like to look into? 

How many months would it take whilst renting to build up a credit score to be considered for things like a mortgage and car etc?

also does anyone know if when you are granted a visa you then need to leave and enter the country within a certain timescale or can you stay in the UK for as long as you need?

any advice on locations, jobs, houses, life in general with two small kids and moving would be excellent

Lauren 

People raise kids all over the country, so anywhere you settle will be fine for the kids.

The bigger issue is what do you want as a family. If you want fine dining, great nightlife and loads of culture them its city centre Sydney or Melbourne if you want beach then anywhere near the coast

If you want to experience what Sydney was like 50 years ago go to Brisbane (that's not an insult to either city, just a reflection on how much more cosmopolitam and built up Sydney is now)

9 hours ago, Lauren Close said:

Hi,

My husband & I are looking to move to Australia with our two children 4 & almost 2. My husband’s a qualified electrician but is also a regional facilities manager at the minute and I am an administrator/contract support.