Any fellow Engineers in here?

Hi, 

I'm currently a commissioning engineer for a large gas turbine OEM (supplying mainly oil & gas and energy sectors) and looking to find out more about the industry in Australia, in particular the best areas for my type of work, and what sort of salary I could expect? I have already realised employer sponsorship would be nigh-on impossible.

Perth seems an obvious choice for the oil & gas jobs, and my own company have offices in both Melbourne and Sydney (so could be a possibility of employer sponsorship if I'm still working for them at the time) - add in the fact we are childless (and intend on being) and very social then we are very much looking for that "city life". 

I've had a quick look at visas and would both be looking at skilled visas (missus is in mental health nursing) as both our occupations are on the SOL (I believe I would be eligible for state sponsorship too) - I have 21 years experience in engineering in various roles, and I have a bachelor degree which I have confirmed is accredited. Only thing against me is my age (will be 40-44 when we intend on moving). I guess I could take one of the English proficiency tests if i needed the extra 10 points?

Skill-wise, my degree is in Mechanical Engineering, as is my apprenticeship, but currently working in controls (PLCs) and electrical (instrumentation) with limited exposure to valves, compressors etc.

Anyway, look forward to hearing the thoughts of any fellow professional engineers 🙂 

Only one of you needs to apply for a visa, and then includes their partner in the application.