491 - Partner on STSOL list - does that count for points?

Joeyroo

Hello,

Thanks in advance for any help on this!

My partner is on the MLTSSL list as an audiologist, and we are looking to apply with her as the applicant for a 491 visa, which we think is our most likely avenue into Australia.

I used to live in Australia between 2014-17 on a 2 year 417 (working holiday visa) before being granted an employer sponsored 457 visa under the Hotel Manager category. This was a 4 year visa however I left after a year. Hotel Manager was on the STSOL list before and remains so now. This was all in VIC.

Since returning to the UK between 2017-present I moved into the tour operator side at a tailor made travel agent, a role which I haven't found on any list (unless it is named differently in Australia). However as I worked in the Hotel Manager industry for over 5 years with a lot of Australian experience I hope that would mean I would be considered as skilled enough to return to that role if required.

I am asking of course because there are extra points available if the partner of the main applicant is on a Skills Shortage List. We don't know if this applies to just the MTLSSL list or the STSOL list? Does anyone have any guidance on this? 

I have plenty of follow up questions to the above but thought it better to start step by step. Please let me know if the above is unclear or if I need to provide clarity on anything.

Cheers,
Joe 

6 hours ago, Joeyroo said:

am asking of course because there are extra points available if the partner of the main applicant is on a Skills Shortage List.

The points are available if you can get a positive skills assessment from VETASSESS. It may be worth getting some professional advice to properly review all your options. 

Thanks Paul Hand, I've messaged Suncoast Migration where it looks like you're employed.