Some advice for the future

JMac85

Hi all,

New to the forum and it’s a great source of info so thanks! Hoping for some guidance.

1.       Looking at applying for a student visa (Masters of Teaching Primary, 2-year course, starting Feb 2021). De-facto partner coming with me. Visa looks relatively straightforward, not so much the money involved with uni and finding part-time jobs. (May have some questions about the visa later.) Appreciate the future is uncertain in terms of whether we would even be able to enter Australia around Jan 2021, but just have to wait for now I suppose. 

2.       My understanding is that upon successful graduation I can apply for a Temporary Graduate Post-study work visa (485) allowing us to stay and work for 2 years and then 1 more year if I studied regionally (Perth).

3.       After that it gets more complicated and I get that it’s a long way away but we’re looking at ways of staying permanently. Primary teacher is not on the skills list for the 189 visa but it is on the WA graduate occupation list. Am I right in saying that IF I studied for 2 years, worked for 2/3 years as a primary teacher the visas that are possible are 190, 491 (and possibly the 191 once it starts)? 

A lot can happen before then but just trying to gauge if there is a way.

Thanks in advance.

I would never recommend that anyone attempt to migrate permanently to Australia using a student visa at the best of times.  To contemplate it right now would be very foolish IMO.

There's only one way to migrate permanently to Australia - you must have qualifications and experience in an occupation that's on the Skilled Lists. If you don't have them, then you've got to study to get them, and that's going to take you two or three years.  That's a long time in the Immigration world, and there's a high risk the requirements will have changed by then.