register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

rajiraguraman

Points for PhD clarification

Hello,

I just need a clarification regarding my submitted EOI for 189 visa application.
I am a PhD graduate from Deakin University, Australia. My program was a full time study but was a collaborative program between an Indian institute and Deakin University, Australia. I was at Chennai,India for 3 years during my PhD and last one year I spent at Deakin University. 
When I sent my skill assessment to Engineers Australia for assessment (233914 Engineering technologist) I was given a outcome letter saying Bachelor's is my highest AQF. Looks like my master's degree was not suitable for that stream that I applied to.  I am just wondering if I will be getting only 15 points with regard to educational qualification for this case or 20 points because of PhD. I have not claimed Australian study requirement because of this reason.

Could anyone please clarify.

I would speak to a good registered migration agent. 

18 hours ago, rajiraguraman said:

Hello,

I just need a clarification regarding my submitted EOI for 189 visa application.
I am a PhD graduate from Deakin University, Australia. My program was a full time study but was a collaborative program between an Indian institute and Deakin University, Australia. I was at Chennai,India for 3 years during my PhD and last one year I spent at Deakin University. 
When I sent my skill assessment to Engineers Australia for assessment (233914 Engineering technologist) I was given a outcome letter saying Bachelor's is my highest AQF. Looks like my master's degree was not suitable for that stream that I applied to.  I am just wondering if I will be getting only 15 points with regard to educational qualification for this case or 20 points because of PhD. I have not claimed Australian study requirement because of this reason.

Could anyone please clarify.