12 months experience plus working holiday visa

Hello,

I am a final year nursing student from the UK. My future goal is to get a 190 visa for Victoria. 

I was wondering if I get 12 months experience here in the UK after I qualify and then I go to Australia on a working holiday visa and do a minimum of 12 months there as a nurse. Would I meet the 2 year minimum experience needed which is required for VIC state nomination?

I would have 85 points for the 190 visa as I have an IELTS score of 8 and I am aware you can only work for 6 months for one employer which is why I was thinking about doing the farm work requirements and applying for the second working holiday visa. 

I am trying to plan in advance, and figure out the best way to get to Australia, hence why I am asking now.

Thank you,

Emma

You would definitely need to do the farmwork, because you couldn't get the full 12 months experience on the one-year WHV.   It's not easy to get a nursing job in Australia these days, so you would likely take several weeks to find a job when you first arrive, and then potentially another break when you have to change employers mid-year.   Bear in mind you'll also need to be registered before you can work in nursing at all. 

Hi, 

Thank you for your reply.

I have been looking at an agency which lets you work there for longer than the 6 months and they can get you sorted before you leave for Australia so when you arrive you just have to present in person to complete registration and then go on an orientation with them and then you can start booking the shifts.

I just didn't know if it would be best me staying here for the 2 years after I qualify or staying for 1 year and doing the working holiday visa to claim more points. I'm quite conscious in regards to the WHV age limit.

14 minutes ago, EmmaJames said:

Hi, 

Thank you for your reply.