Places to live recommendations

scubacam

My OH, 2 kids and I are emigrating imminently, just waiting for house to exchange and complete!!!

To begin with we will be a single income family as I will be settling the kids. My OH is a mechanical project manager so hopefully will find work. And I’m a special needs teacher when I return to work.

We will be initially renting a Airbnb in Sydney’s northern beaches as we have spent a lot of time there during our previous visits and really like the vibe, amenities, eateries, shops and accessibility to beaches and Sydney.

We are very much aware this is a costly place to live (especially on a single income) and was wondering if anyone had any recommendations of places that have a similar vibe, eateries, schools, amenities, BEACH with good job prospects and a more affordable cost of renting on one salary?

We visited Newcastle before, but unfortunately very briefly before we had to fly back to the UK. So only got to see a glimpse. But have heard a number of people talk about it.

Any help much appreciated.

The beach is what makes it problematic, because as soon as you're close to the beach, house prices and rental prices skyrocket.   Sydney's demographic centre (i.e. where most people live) is actually Parramatta, way out west, for that reason.

As you're coming from London, ordinarily I wouldn't expect Sydney prices to be a problem for you, but cutting down to one income changes the goalposts.  It really depends on your tolerance for commuting.  Again, if you're from London then maybe the Central Coast commute won't seem as daunting to you as it does to the average Australian.  If I needed to drive to work (e.g. because I needed the car for my job) there is no way I would do it.  My boss lived on the Central Coast for seven years and had several accidents and countless near misses - too many huge trucks on the road.