Visa 189 job seek

elboras

Hi all,

I am interested in applying for Visa 189. I am confident I can get around 75-85 points (test pass mark is 65) as I have relevant working experience, PhD, English certification, working experience in Australia under a visa 457, etc. Most importantly my profession is Chemist and it is included in the Skilled Occupations list for the 189.

I was wondering if anyone can share experience seeking jobs from overseas with a visa 189 granted. I know this might seem that I am not committed with the decision to moving to Australia but I have a 2 year old kid and quitting my job and relocate to Australia with no income will be too much of a risk.

Another question, does anybody know how often is Skilled Occupations list updated? or when was the last update? I do not want Chemist to be removed.

Thanks in advance

Thanks Paul,

Yes, I have just read that in January 2020 is 90. I noticed that it varies a lot each month. In case I want to try anyway, would you recommend to take the English test and the skill assessment before submitting the expression of interest? Or should I wait for the invitation before doing it?

Best

17 minutes ago, elboras said:

Thanks Paul,

Yes, I have just read that in January 2020 is 90. I noticed that it varies a lot each month. In case I want to try anyway, would you recommend to take the English test and the skill assessment before submitting the expression of interest? Or should I wait for the invitation before doing it?

Best

You must have everything in place at time of invitation - so effectively when you submit. If you don’t you will get a refusal. 

46 minutes ago, elboras said:

So, I have to spend around 1000 AUD to get a Skill Assessment (VETASESS) and 300 Euros on the IELST beforehand. If I do not get the invitation afterwards it will be for nothing. 

That's how it works. We (as the applicant) see it as unfair because we need to spend a bunch of cash before knowing if we will ever get an invite.