Applying for 190 as a nurse - does work experience with just a diploma of nursing count?

SusieBarten

Hi all,

My name is Susie and am hoping to move to Australia with my boyfriend James. I’m an occupational therapist and James is a registered nurse.

Our heart is really set on Melbourne and we  are hoping to get a 190 skilled VIC state nomination visa with James as the primary applicant. James has 9 years experience as a Registered Nurse in the UK, he has a diploma in nursing but currently doing a top up course course to bring this to a BSc which ends in May.

With 9 years experience as an RN James would have 85 + 5 points for 190 in VIC and meet the 2 year work experience requirement. (I can’t be the primary applicant as VIC requires 10 years experience for my occupation which I do not have).

BUT we are worried that James’s 9 years as a registered nurse will not be recognised before his BSc bridging course. This would reduce our points significantly and mean we would not be eligible for state nomination from Victoria as they require 2 years experience.

Has anyone been through this similar situation? I have been through a few threads, it seems that ANMAC will accept this experience but there is a chance that migration might not?

Thanks for your help!
Susie

51 minutes ago, SusieBarten said:

Thanks for your help guys - doesn’t sound good. That’s so frustrating as the top up course is just essay based and does not really reflect his experience as a working registered nurse! 

True, but its the essay bit that is different between the diploma and the degree, and without the essay he doesn't have a degree so would never qualify.

So it looks like he will need to work in the UK (or at least not Oz) for 2 years after getting awarded the BSc before you are eligible - note the degree is awarded from the conferment date not the result date, so it is the day he goes to the ceremony that is the award date - this is usually a few months later

1 hour ago, SusieBarten said: