Moving to Adelaide

Clare007

Hi guys. Myself, husband and two children are patiently waiting for our 489 Visa to come through, around 3 months our caseworker has told us. We are from the UK, my husband is a general plumber and I work as a nursing assistant in our main hospital. We are after some advice on areas, schools (children will be 11,9) and work opportunities. I just want to say good luck to everyone that is moving or just moved.

Kind Regards Clare 

• Congratulations 1

Hi Clare, exciting! Congratulations. 

Adelaide is lovely. It was the first place we moved to when we first came over. We’re on the Sunshine Coast now but would move back to Adelaide tomorrow if it was just up to me. 

I would recommend Henley Beach area. It’s beautiful. The public schools in that area are some of the best in Adelaide too. Our son went to Henley High School which is a really sort after public school. A lot of parents do decide to put the children into private schools in Adelaide but that wasn’t an option for us financially. 

You will also need to consider your commute to work too. The hospital is a 20/25 min drive from there. 

One thing to consider...Check your husbands work qualifications are valid in South Australia before you arrive so you don’t have any surprises. For some trades they require Australian certification and wont let you work in that role without it. It means taking a course in Australia. Even if you’ve been doing the trade for years in the UK. Plumbers might be ok, I don’t know but I’d check it out. 

13 hours ago, Clare007 said:

Hi guys. Myself, husband and two children are patiently waiting for our 489 Visa to come through, around 3 months our caseworker has told us. We are from the UK, my husband is a general plumber and I work as a nursing assistant in our main hospital. We are after some advice on areas, schools (children will be 11,9) and work opportunities. I just want to say good luck to everyone that is moving or just moved.