Is it the right thing?

Tappers2oz

Hi guys, some of you might remember me from ‘old times’ but I don’t post much anymore. Just pop in and say hi now and then.

We’ve been wanting to emigrate since about 2007, things never happened so we took a different path and moved from Surrey to Cornwall instead. We’ve been here 6 yrs and love it. 

Surrey never had the same feel, but the australia thing was never far from my mind even after moving. Lots has changed and I’m now in my 2nd year of nursing and hubby is trying to find a sponsor (his job is on the short term list) as nursing isn’t such a secure route anymore either. 

I’m wondering when (if) you get that feeling of ‘this is the right thing’ to do? We aren’t unhappy here, we have so many beaches on our doorstep, the kids have made some great friends (as have we), the community feel is amazing and I feel more Cornish then I ever had feeling for Surrey! I feel I am one of them. 😄 We have embraced the way of life down here.

The one massive issue is finances and housing. What we need we can’t get. Our rent is sky high (for a small house) and as such we can’t afford to save for a deposit to buy somewhere. Even when I qualify we won’t ever be millionaires. That’s NHS workers for you. We live in a nice (but slightly dodgy) area, the kids schools are close enough to walk to and are pretty good schools. The kids out of school clubs are more like a family unit then ‘just another club’ and my son even has a job lined up (once a vacancy comes up) with one of the clubs as an assistant.