Electrician emigrating to Western Australia with my family

MattMGM

Hi all;

Just starting out on our journey to emigrate to Australia.

I am married with 3 children, when we hopefully emigrate they will be 15,13 and 7

I am a qualified electrician and have been for 21 years now - i have my own registered company.

What I am trying to find out is -

1) What qualifications are needed to operate as an electrician over in Australia.
2) Is there a great deal of demand for electricians.

We are looking at relocating to Perth.

As much advice would be much appreciated (it’s a minefield)

TIA
Matt

Do you know whether you can even qualify for a visa yet?    If not, that's your first step.  Make an appointment with a registered migration agent.   All the reputable ones will give you an initial consultation free of charge.

The reason I ask is that if you've been in business that long, I assume you're in your forties. That may make it difficult to get enough points to qualify.  If you're over 45, you've missed the boat.  You could get a short-term visa for a few years (which I wouldn't recommend with kids, as it's too disruptive to their education) but you've got no chance of migrating permanently.  Unless your wife is younger and has an occupation that would qualify her to apply.

You will need to do a  training course when they arrive in Australia, then work as a trades assistant (similar to an apprentice) for several months, before they are allowed to work as an electrician in your own right.  I know that sounds mad when you've been an electrician for so long, but that's the way it works.

Edited by Marisawright

1 minute ago, MattMGM said:

Thank you for taking the time to reply.

I am 38 years of age and will be 39 when we are planning on moving, hopefully I am still young enough to emigrate.

On my 'to do list' is a phone call to The Down Under Center on Monday.