IT Opportunities and quality of life in Perth, WA

Bloodr0se

(My partner has been offered a trainee Healthcare position in Perth and the visa application is currently in progress. She really wants me to go with her however I have several major concerns, not least regarding work opportunities there for myself. I am a British IT professional with a relevant degree and approximately 10 years of experience in the field. I currently work as a DevOps/Application Engineer for a software company. We do have an Australian office however I haven't really been with the business long enough for an international transfer, their setup and structure is completely different and the office is in a different Australian state anyway. 

I have been listed as an accompanying spouse on her visa application (407) however my understanding is that I can only work part-time, should the application even be accepted. Can anyone provide any info regarding the current employment market there and also whether or not there is the possibility to secure a full-time position under such an arrangement, presumably with local employer sponsorship? 

Thanks in advance.  

I would say you have a wonderful opportunity to experience life in a new city in a new country.  Why not?  Sounds like you are relativley young and I assume no kids?  You might find you take a little while to find the right role, so might be worth looking into software companies in perth, or indeed remote work?

If you are a spouse on a work visa you should have full work rights; I think what people refer to is that companies will often pick someone with citizenship or permanent residence over someone with a limited term 3-4 year visa if they are looking long term.

Perth is a lovly place to live, particularly if you like ourdoors and watersports.  We are moving back to Perth after 15 years in the uK as soon as we can sell our house.