Accounting (Qualified) - Melbourne

TWright105

Hi Everyone,  

Currently waiting for my 309/100 to be granted, hopping this will come through soon so I can be over in Melbourne for the end of the year.  I am a CIMA qualified accountant with 15 years UK experience, 9 of those I work for an international oil & gas service company, and 3 years working in the renewables (solar) sector.  I am going to be applying for the CPA qualification once I have moved to oz. 

Just wondering if there are any other Brits on here that are qualified accountants, who now live in Oz, what was your experience like in getting a job?  I know that not having experience in Australia is going to be an issue, but hoping that my international experience will help (I was the accountant for a Singaporean company for 2 years).

Every time I do a job search it seems like there is an abundance of Senior Accountant / Management accountant / Financial Controller based roles in Melbourne.  Has anyone else been successful in landing any of these types of jobs?

Many Thanks,

Edited by TWright105

• 1 month later...

Hi there,

I am a CIMA and CPA member based in Perth and lived in Sydney for many years. 

You should be fine in Melbourne.

The whole "Australian experience" is less of an issue now than it used to be, espeically in Sydney & Melbourne.  The only aspect where it's relevant really is Tax which CIMA people don't do a lot of anyway.

CPA & CIMA have a mutual recogition agreement so you can get CPA by just applying and paying the money.  Not sure if you need to in Melbourne, CIMA is becoming more recognised.  I only got CPA when I moved to Perth.

Have a look at seek.com.au for roles & contact with the main agencies before arriving.

Recruitment tends to be very quiet in December and January (summer hols) pretty much everywhere over here.

Hope this helps.

On 30/11/2019 at 07:55, Collie said:

Hi there,