Considering emigrating to Aus with 11 year old

Zoe848

Hi all,

i was looking for a bit of advice/guidance. I am seriously considering moving to Australia with my 11 year old but I literally have no idea where to start. I have tried googling it for information but I have had no joy. I’m a 31 year old single mom, I have a first class bachelor of honours degree in psychology (criminal behaviour), over 2 years voluntary work AND paid work experience in different roles. What would be my first step to take?

thank you in advance :-)

Make sure you have your child's father's permission to remove them from the country.  Check to see if your skills are on the list for a visa - be aware that psychologists are ten a penny in Australia and negotiating the registration process to actually practice is real wrist slitting territory.  I think you may now need at least a masters to be registered, you always required a fourth (honours) year but they did accept UK honours as equivalent back in the dark ages.  

Hi Quoll, 

thank you you for your reply. Even though I have a psychology degree I don’t want to practice as a psychologist, I would be happy working on probation/resettlement, anything to do with rehabilitating offenders but no on a registered psychologists level if that makes sense? His dad I am hoping won’t be a problem as he’s not really interested in my son anyway. How do I work out what’s the best area for us, and the most affordable housing wise? I scored 65 on the points test so I pass there....there’s just so much to consider isn’t there....

First, you need an occupation on the skilled occupation list. Having a degree on its own doesn't mean a lot. 

Do also consider the info about your sons father. He will have to agree and sign the paperwork or you will need a court order.